Due to production change, Hamburger Helper and Asian Helper products will soon carry wheat allergen warning.
General Mills has announced that its three gluten-free Helper products (Hamburger Helper Cheesy Hashbrown, Asian Helper Chicken Fried Rice and Asian Helper Beef Fried Rice) will soon no longer be gluten-free.
A change in the manufacturing location prompted the switch in status. Once the move is complete, new boxes will indicate that the products “May Contain Wheat,” according to the announcement. Gluten-free consumers are advised to read labels carefully during this transition period, as both gluten-free and gluten-containing versions of these Helper products may be on the same store shelf. General Mills is working to minimize such confusion, the announcement noted.
General Mills assured consumers that the company remains devoted to gluten-free needs. More than 300 General Mills products are gluten-free. A current list can be found at GlutenFreely.com.
The Savvy Celiac applauded General Mills for being upfront about the change in gluten-free status. "While some people may not like the news, just getting news on this is a refreshing change for all of us who live gluten-free," she wrote.