Is whey gluten-free?
Hi Denise. 100% pure whey protein is naturally gluten-free; however, you may be concerned about some versions of whey protein that contain peptide bound glutamine derived from wheat protein. Those products should not be used if you have celiac disease or are gluten sensitive.
When in doubt, read the label and call the manufacturer if you are unsure. Some of the whey powders I like to use, Design for Health Whey Cool, Jay Robb Whey Powder and Tera’s Whey, are all gluten-free. Jay Robb’s website does state, however, that it is processed in a facility that processes other products which may contain wheat, etc.
One of my favorite ways (no pun intended!) to use whey protein is in smoothies. Try blending 1cup vanilla almond milk, 1 cup frozen strawberries, 1 scoop whey powder and 1 tablespoon peanut butter for a PB&J smoothie. Delicious!
In good health,
EA Stewart, MBA, RD