Quantcast Hidden Gluten in Dental and Cosmetic Products | NFCA
Skip Navigation Links

Hidden Gluten in Dental and Cosmetic Products


This blog is sponsored by ShopRite logo



What would be the ingredient names to avoid while choosing gluten-free dental products, makeup and skin care?




 Hi Camille. To ease your mind, gluten cannot be absorbed through the skin. However, if a product containing gluten comes into contact with your lips or mouth, such as makeup or lipstick, the gluten can be ingested that way. 

If you feel better avoiding gluten-containing skin products, below is a list of ingredients to watch out for. It is not a comprehensive list, but it is a good start. Because there are so many skin care and dental products on the market, it’s best to call the manufacturer prior to using their particular products.

  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Hydrolyzed wheat starch
  • Hydrolyzed wheat gluten
  • Triticum vulgare
  • Wheat germ oil
  • Wheat germ extract
  • Wheat germ glycerides
  • Vitamin E derived from wheat germ
  • Oat bran
  • Oat flour
  • Oat extract
  • Oat protein
  • Avena sativa
  • Barley extract
  • Barley solids
  • Samino peptide complex
  • Hordeum vulgare
  • Phytosphingosine extract

 For dental products, it is best to contact the manufacturer of the products you use. Another tip: Call your dentist's office a couple weeks ahead of your check up to let them know you can’t use any products that have gluten in it.


Rachel Begun, MS, RD



Give Us Your Feedback!

  • Have you or your family members been diagnosed?
    Complete our celiac disease symptoms checklist today to find out if you are at risk of having celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity ('gluten sensitivity').  We can help improve your quality of life!
  • Stay Informed!
    Join our monthly newsletter to receive news, updates, and tips for healthy gluten-free living and information about celiac disease. Sign-up for the monthly e-mail newsletter