Quantcast Yeast and the Gluten-Free Diet | NFCA
Skip Navigation Links

Yeast and the Gluten-Free Diet

 

This blog is sponsored by Crunchmaster logo

 
 
6/6/2012

Question:

Is yeast considered gluten-free?

From,

Rusty

Answer:

Dear Rusty,

This is a great question. If you are referring to baker’s yeast used in most bread products to help them rise, then yes, this type of yeast is gluten-free.

The same goes for nutritional yeast, which is often used as a flavor enhancer or as a cheese substitute for those on a vegan or dairy-free diet.

The (sometimes) exception to yeast being gluten-free, is with true brewer’s yeast, which is a by-product of beer and thus not considered gluten-free.  To make things a little more complicated, however, there are some “brewer’s yeast” brands that are grown on another medium, such as sugar beets, so these products may be gluten-free.

As with all foods, if you have any doubts about a particular brand of yeast, your best bet is to contact the manufacturer for clarification.

In good health,

EA Stewart, MBA, RD

 

 

Give Us Your Feedback!




 
  • Have you or your family members been diagnosed?
    Complete our celiac disease symptoms checklist today to find out if you are at risk of having celiac disease / gluten intolerance. We can help improve the quality of your life!
  • Stay Informed!
    Join our monthly newsletter to receive news, updates, and tips for healthy gluten-free living and information about celiac disease. Sign-up for the monthly e-mail newsletter