Quantcast Gluten and Caramel Coloring | NFCA
Skip Navigation Links

Gluten and Caramel Coloring

 

This blog is sponsored by Crunchmaster logo

 
 
6/19/2012

Question:

How do I know what caramel coloring is bad?  I am fairly new to celiac and trying to figure out what items bother me.

Answer:

Tammi,

Your location is not listed, but if you are in the USA, I can answer your question. According to Dr. Peter Green in his book Celiac Disease A Hidden Epidemic, p.281, Caramel color is made from corn in the US and is considered safe.  Shelly Case also states that Caramel Color is made from corn in North America and is considered safe in her book Gluten Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource, p. 20-21.  

Sincerely,

Nancy Dickens, BS, RD, LDN

Give Us Your Feedback!




 
  • Have you or your family members been diagnosed?
    Complete our celiac disease symptoms checklist today to find out if you are at risk of having celiac disease / gluten intolerance. We can help improve the quality of your life!
  • Stay Informed!
    Join our monthly newsletter to receive news, updates, and tips for healthy gluten-free living and information about celiac disease. Sign-up for the monthly e-mail newsletter