Is yeast considered gluten-free?
This is a great question. If you are referring to baker’s yeast used in most bread products to help them rise, then yes, this type of yeast is gluten-free.
The same goes for nutritional yeast, which is often used as a flavor enhancer or as a cheese substitute for those on a vegan or dairy-free diet.
The (sometimes) exception to yeast being gluten-free, is with true brewer’s yeast, which is a by-product of beer and thus not considered gluten-free. To make things a little more complicated, however, there are some “brewer’s yeast” brands that are grown on another medium, such as sugar beets, so these products may be gluten-free.
As with all foods, if you have any doubts about a particular brand of yeast, your best bet is to contact the manufacturer for clarification.
In good health,
EA Stewart, MBA, RD